Help needed to test new reporting tool

Questions about joining this site
modesfan
Posts: 111
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2016 7:37 pm

Help needed to test new reporting tool

Post by modesfan »

Hi all,

I have reworked my version of software for RaspberryPi (although it also runs on Windows PCs but has no GUI). It is called modesfiltered. I would like to invite all users that are interested (esp. Rongor, bosgnoom and skaw) to test it.

http://dfiles.eu/files/n811t5o9y

The download site is a bit ad-heavy but it works: first click regular download below right clock symbol, than close the pop-up window with the cross in top right corner, wait for 5 seconds, than click 'I am not a robot', click the images that solve the question, click continue, click download file. You have to accept scripts from jscloud.org and ipowercdn.com .

You can find a README.TXT with installation instructions inside the zip file.

Most important: fill the variables.txt!

Please give me some feedback and report any problems.

Cheers
Last edited by modesfan on Sat Dec 31, 2016 4:20 pm, edited 2 times in total.
modesfan
Posts: 111
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2016 7:37 pm

Re: Help needed to test new reporting tool

Post by modesfan »

Hi all,
I forgot to mention two things:

First, please check the output (default: /var/log/modes.log) for errors.

Second, if you want to forward Piaware MLAT positioning messages, besides following the steps described in the README.TXT you have to configure Piaware to open a port e.g. 31003:

Code: Select all

sudo piaware-config -mlatResultsFormat "beast,connect,localhost:30104 basestation,listen,31003"
Restart piaware:

Code: Select all

sudo service piaware restart
ktul_fueler
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2016 6:27 pm

Re: Help needed to test new reporting tool

Post by ktul_fueler »

I gave it a try, getting over and over on modes.log:

Code: Select all

IOException IO Exc F: java.net.ConnectException: Connection refused
Capt_Zeek
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Feb 07, 2016 3:02 pm

Re: Help needed to test new reporting tool

Post by Capt_Zeek »

I have not been able to get this to run on my RPi, but I did get it to run on an old Win XP laptop through Java.

When I set it up to run on my Win10 desktop, this is what i get:
C:\Tools\modesfiltered>java -jar modesfiltered.jar -host 192.168.0.109
Mode-S logger Version 4 started.
Using 192.168.0.109:30003 and 0 as host.
Resultdate: Tue Dec 06 18:55:25 CST 2016
Elements found in blacklist file: 12
[3C4, 4CA, 3C7, 3C6, 3C5, 489, 4B1, 400, 484, 471, 440, 45A]
Elements found in whitelist file: 9
[3E, 3F, AE, A3, AD, 3B, 4D, 15, 43]
Elements found in blacklist callsign file: 66
[ADR, AFL, AFR, ASL, AUA, AWU, AZA, BAW, BEE, BEL, BER, BMR, CAO, CFG, CHH, CHX, CLW, CLX, CSA, CTN, DEO, DLH, EIN, ELO, ELY, ENT, EXS, EWG, ETH, EZY, FIN, GMI, GWI, HLX, IBK, ISR, JEA, KAL, KLM, LDA, LLP, MSC, NAX, NLY, PGT, PIA, QTR, ROT, RUS, RYR, SAS, SKS, SRN, SWR, SXS, TCX, THA, THY, TOM, TRA, VIM, VIR, VLG, VKG, WZZ, 2BB]
Thread-2 connected to SQL.
IOException IO Exc F: java.net.ConnectException: Connection timed out: connect
java.net.ConnectException: Connection timed out: connect
at java.net.DualStackPlainSocketImpl.connect0(Native Method)
at java.net.DualStackPlainSocketImpl.socketConnect(Unknown Source)
at java.net.AbstractPlainSocketImpl.doConnect(Unknown Source)
at java.net.AbstractPlainSocketImpl.connectToAddress(Unknown Source)
at java.net.AbstractPlainSocketImpl.connect(Unknown Source)
at java.net.PlainSocketImpl.connect(Unknown Source)
at java.net.SocksSocketImpl.connect(Unknown Source)
at java.net.Socket.connect(Unknown Source)
at java.net.Socket.connect(Unknown Source)
at java.net.Socket.<init>(Unknown Source)
at java.net.Socket.<init>(Unknown Source)
at modesproject.Logging_ModeS.main(Logging_ModeS.java:210)
Dec 16, 2016 6:55:46 PM modesproject.Logging_ModeS main
WARNING: IOException IO Exc F: java.net.ConnectException: Connection timed out: connect
Dec 16, 2016 6:55:46 PM modesproject.Logging_ModeS main
WARNING:

It repeats from the IOException down about every 10 seconds. I reinstalled/updated Java but no change. I dont have a drive F: but did until a few months ago if that is what that means.
Capt_Zeek
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Feb 07, 2016 3:02 pm

Re: Help needed to test new reporting tool

Post by Capt_Zeek »

This is what i get on my RPi:
pi@raspberrypi:~ $ sudo service modes start
Job for modes.service failed. See 'systemctl status modes.service' and 'journalctl -xn' for details.
pi@raspberrypi:~ $ systemctl status modes.service
● modes.service - (null)
Loaded: loaded (/etc/init.d/modes.sh)
Active: failed (Result: exit-code) since Fri 2016-12-16 23:29:48 EST; 1min 57s ago
Process: 1639 ExecStart=/etc/init.d/modes.sh start (code=exited, status=2)
modesfan
Posts: 111
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2016 7:37 pm

Re: Help needed to test new reporting tool

Post by modesfan »

Hello Capt_Zeek, Thanks for reporting the errors!

Modesfiltered works with Win10, I just tested it this morning. So I assume a problem with your settings or setup.

I get exceptions of type "F: Connection refused", if I supplied a wrong port.

Try "-port 30005" this should give you some lines of: "stringarray to short" and "no MSG symbol". At least now you know, whether your dump-server is at -host and data is coming through the firewall.

I get exceptions of type "F: Connection timed out", if I supplied a wrong host.

Please check the IP address that you supplied with the -host parameter. Is there really a dump1090 running on that machine? Try to access it with a web browser at port 8080.


As for the RPi-problem:
Could you please post the content of your modes.sh and give some more info about the OS on the RPi? I will investigate on my setup then.
faxstefa
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2016 8:39 pm

Re: Help needed to test new reporting tool

Post by faxstefa »

These are my results:

pi@piaware:/etc/init.d$ systemctl status modes.service
● modes.service - LSB: modes initscript
Loaded: loaded (/etc/init.d/modes.sh)
Active: active (exited) since Sun 2017-01-01 12:01:48 UTC; 3min 10s ago
Process: 896 ExecStart=/etc/init.d/modes.sh start (code=exited, status=0/SUCCESS)

pi@piaware:/etc/init.d$ cat /var/log/modes.log
/etc/init.d/modes.sh: line 26: java: command not found

Couldn't find my location on the pi-feeder list. I think that I am not feeding the site via pi at the moment.
PI3 with FA PiAware 3.10

Regards
Stefan
faxstefa
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2016 8:39 pm

Re: Help needed to test new reporting tool

Post by faxstefa »

Problem solved! Had to update the Jave Software on Pi.
Now, reporting to the site.

But now:
[MSG, 7, 1, 1, 3FECE5, 1, 2017/01/01, 15:10:42.880, 2017/01/01, 15:10:42.900]
Lat
format error

Where can I set the Lat/ Lon coordiantes? Should be on the Pi, because already feeding FA with the same Pi.

Regards
Stefan
modesfan
Posts: 111
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2016 7:37 pm

Re: Help needed to test new reporting tool

Post by modesfan »

Hello Stefan,

your setup is ok now. The program just received a message with a wrong format (altitude missing). This is often the case. There is nothing to set beside the location name (variables.txt).

Thanks for reporting!
ronagel
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Apr 11, 2015 3:24 pm

Re: Help needed to test new reporting tool

Post by ronagel »

same here too: "/etc/init.d/modes.sh: line 26: java: command not found"

How do I get this resolved ?

I'm also running PI3 with FA PiAware 3.10

Regards
Roy
Post Reply